Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

outlander

Image from Amazon.com

Title: Outlander

Author: Diana Gabaldon

Published: June 1992

Rating: ★★★★


Summary: Claire Randall is reacquainting herself with her husband after the war in 1945 in a Scottish town in the Highlands, when she is transported to 1743. Coming to terms with this unlikely scenario and trying to survive, Claire must throw herself into the times until she can find a way back home.

Why I Am Recommending: I like this book because of its epic story telling. Although this is a romance novel in many ways, I also appreciate the quality of writing and the attention to historical details. When I read this book, I had a giddiness and sense of warmth come over me every time I dove back into Claire’s world. There is an intense romance that measures up to the epic nature of this book. This is the first in a series that currently has 9 books, nevermind the novellas that go with it. I have only read the one, but will likely try out another one when I have time to commit to the next 800+ page installment.

One thought on “Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Pingback: List: 6 Swoon-Worthy Reads | Read It, Recommend It

Leave a Reply

